Fins Report: Game -4 A Little “Feel Good” For The Masses

Well, game -4 is in the books and who can argue with a 27-3 final… I CAN! No… the Grumpy Blogger is not back, but in the spirit of “I’m not going to let the score faze me”… a few things need to be discussed here.

HOPE HE’S NOT READING HIS OWN PRESS!

Tanny at the Line

Tanny continues to not impress in his limited action this pre-season. No, the sky is not falling. But I’m countering the national and local media’s knee jerk, by the numbers, assessment of individual performances. I’ve read in 3 places how Tannehill looked “sharp” in that game… and before anyone could think about it… they whip out numbers like 5 for 9 for 75 yards, 1 TD and no picks. Impressive right?… well let me douse that flame with a little piss…

OK, I’M SHAMELESSLY NAME DROPPING NOW…

I once had a brief business relationship with Oronde Gasden (ask me how that ended up some time), and he told me, “did you ever notice that I never made those amazing catches when Marino was throwing the ball?”

Keller’s TD catch was amazing – but that’s because it HAD to be. Had Tanny lofted it up into the corner, it would have been easy. But that pass was misplaced by at least 15 years by my count. I guess that Tanny felt it was wise to ‘back shoulder’ a deep post route when Keller’s defender was clearly beaten. And on 2 occasions, he threw while on the run (formerly referred to as his ‘strength’) to players on the sideline that were CLEARLY covered – once when he needed only 5 yards for a 1st down and nothing but grass in front of him. On the first few snaps, he was tentative at best, but everyone wants to blame the line for that. A review of those plays will show you he had plenty of time to throw but seemed almost afraid to.

So if not for Keller ridiculous catch in the end zone, and the 2 DBs for the Jags that both looked like Sean Smith, that stat line could have easily read… 4-8 for 40 yards, no TDs, 2 sacks and 2 interceptions. Hardly headline grabbing material. But I have faith in our boy. He’s going to have to stink for more than 18 plays for me to jump ship on him. I’m just keeping it real people.

OTHER NOTABLES…

This Grey kid at RB is getting more reps than – well – ANYone! And doing something with it! The Fins’ brass is clearly giving him every chance to win a roster spot after a heart breaking knee injury last pre season. And does ANYone run a comeback route better than Brian Hartline? That’s 8-12 yards ANY time we need it. Except when it’s 3rd and 9 or course.

Brian Hartline

But what’s most encouraging so far is that ALL the young and new guys are making an impact…. Dion Jordan in the mix (a guy can wish can’t he?!?); Will Davis makin’ plays; Ellerby & Wheeler (who I hope become the Fins’ ‘Lebron & Wade’ combo);

Pillip Wheeler

Lamar Miller STILL looks VERY fast;

Lemar Miller

Caleb Sturgis (now THATs a name for a kicker) may have won the job with a combination of going 3 for 3 – that tiny little ‘no doubt about it’ 58 yarder – and the disparity in payroll between him and Carpenter; Keller with his reDUNKulous grab which was 1 of 2 that were BOTH over the middle. Now we just need Tannehill, Pouncey, Wake, Jones, Clemons, Starks & Solia to improve on last year, take all that new talent an RUN with it!

AND THE QUESTION IS…

Are we catching up to the Patriots? And my answer is no. Sorry, but I call’s ’em as I see’s em.

NEXT UP…

The fins play next Saturday against the French Lick Rotary Club’s Flag Football League All Stars in Indiana. Rumor has it that Larry Bird will be taking reps at free safety. My prediction… Tanny catches fire, Wallace catches a ball, and Bird catches the crabs. It’s close until the 4th, but the Fins win 126 to 3 in a squeaker.

GO FINS!

2 comments

  1. Mike H · August 12, 2013

    Great coverage, wish I could comment as I didn’t see the game. Wait…I AM commenting! Well, I’m commenting about commenting, so technically that doesn’t count as commenting. But well done anyway sir!

    • shanydawg · August 12, 2013

      first off… I love you. 2ndly… you don’t need to see the game… YOU’VE GOT ME!

Leave a Reply

